Texas Right to Life releases 85th Legislative Session Scorecards

Reading Time: 2 minutes

Despite the vicious politics of the leadership of the Texas House of Representatives, the regular and special sessions of the 85th Texas Legislature yielded several Pro-Life legislative victories.  The regular session saw the successful passage of the Dismemberment Abortion Ban, and during the special session, multiple Pro-Life bills were passed and signed by Governor Abbott, including Patient Consent for Do-Not-Resuscitate (DNR) Orders and Pro-Life Health Insurance Reform—measures that had been blocked by House leadership until Governor Abbott intervened.

Following each session of the Texas Legislature, Texas Right to Life releases the Pro-Life Scorecard to inform Texas voters of where legislators stand on various Life issues.  The Pro-Life Scorecard is the most reliable tool available to Texas voters about who leads, who follows, and who is subverting Pro-Life legislative efforts under the Capitol dome.

Scores for legislators are calculated based on how they voted on specific Pro-Life and anti-Life bills and amendments, listed below, as well as if they publicly made a stand against or attempted to weaken a Pro-Life measure.  Each vote is weighted, and those members who voted correctly earned points for that vote.  Legislators who voted incorrectly did not earn points for that vote.  Additionally, when members recorded an anti-Life statement in the Journal of the Texas House, they earned negative points.

The extra commentary offers ancillary accounts of behind-the-scenes and off-the-record actions of legislators, explaining how they advanced or hindered Pro-Life legislation.

An additional tool for voters is Texas Right to Life’s roster of 2017 Pro-Life Heroes and Disappointments.  The Pro-Life Heroes will be announced on Thursday and the Pro-Life Disappointments will be unveiled on Friday.  Additionally, an individual report detailing each state legislator’s votes will be released on Monday.


Texas State House

Rep. Alma Allen D 131
Rep. Roberto Alonzo D 104
Rep. Carol Alvarado D 145
Rep. Rafael Anchia D 103
Rep. Charles Anderson R 56
Rep. Rodney Anderson R 105
Rep. Diana Arevalo D 116
Rep. Trent Ashby R 57
Rep. Ernest Bailes R 18
Rep. Cecil Bell R 3
Rep. Diego Bernal D 123
Rep. Kyle Biedermann R 73
Rep. Cesar Blanco D 76
Rep. Dwayne Bohac R 138
Rep. Dennis Bonnen R 25
Rep. Greg Bonnen R 24
Rep. Cindy Burkett R 113
Rep. Dewayne Burns R 58
Rep. Dustin Burrows R 83
Rep. Angie Chen Button R 112
Rep. Briscoe Cain R 128
Rep. Terry Canales D 40
Rep. Giovanni Capriglione R 98
Rep. Travis Clardy R 11
Rep. Garnet Coleman D 147
Rep. Nicole Collier D 95
Rep. Byron Cook R 8
Rep. Philip Cortez D 117
Rep. Scott Cosper R 54
Rep. Tom Craddick R 82
Rep. John Cyrier R 17
Rep. Tony Dale R 136
Rep. Drew Darby R 72
Rep. Yvonne Davis D 111
Rep. Sarah Davis R 134
Rep. Jay Dean R 7
Rep. Joe Deshotel D 22
Rep. Dawnna Dukes D 46
Rep. Harold Dutton D 142
Rep. Gary Elkins R 135
Rep. Wayne Faircloth R 23
Rep. Pat Fallon R 106
Rep. Jessica Farrar D 148
Rep. Dan Flynn R 2
Rep. James Frank R 69
Rep. John Frullo R 84
Rep. Charlie Geren R 99
Rep. Barbara Gervin-Hawkins D 120
Rep. Helen Giddings D 109
Rep. Craig Goldman R 97
Rep. Larry Gonzales R 52
Rep. Mary Gonzalez D 75
Rep. Lance Gooden R 4
Rep. Bobby Guerra D 41
Rep. Ryan Guillen D 31
Rep. Roland Gutierrez D 119
Rep. Cole Hefner R 5
Rep. Ana Hernandez D 143
Rep. Abel Herrero D 34
Rep. Gina Hinojosa D 49
Rep. Justin Holland R 33
Rep. Donna Howard D 48
Rep. Dan Huberty R 127
Rep. Todd Hunter R 32
Rep. Jason Isaac R 45
Rep. Celia Israel D 50
Rep. Eric Johnson D 100
Rep. Jarvis Johnson D 139
Rep. Kyle Kacal R 12
Rep. Mark Keough R 15
Rep. Phil King R 61
Rep. Tracy King D 80
Rep. Ken King R 88
Rep. Stephanie Klick R 91
Rep. Linda Koop R 102
Rep. Matt Krause R 93
Rep. John Kuempel R 44
Rep. Stan Lambert R 71
Rep. Brooks Landgraf R 81
Rep. Mike Lang R 60
Rep. Lyle Larson R 122
Rep. Jodie Laubenberg R 89
Rep. Jeff Leach R 67
Rep. Oscar Longoria D 35
Rep. JM Lozano R 43
Rep. Eddie Lucio III D 38
Rep. Armando Martinez D 39
Rep. Will Metcalf R 16
Rep. Morgan Meyer R 108
Rep. Rick Miller R 26
Rep. Ina Minjarez D 124
Rep. Joe Moody D 78
Rep. Geanie Morrison R 30
Rep. Sergio Munoz D 36
Rep. Jim Murphy R 133
Rep. Andrew Murr R 53
Rep. Victoria Neave D 107
Rep. Poncho Nevarez D 74
Rep. Rene Oliveira D 37
Rep. Tom Oliverson R 130
Rep. Evelina Ortega D 77
Rep. Chris Paddie R 9
Rep. Tan Parker R 63
Rep. Dennis Paul R 129
Rep. Mary Ann Perez D 144
Rep. Dade Phelan R 21
Rep. Larry Phillips R 62
Rep. Joe Pickett D 79
Rep. Walter Price R 87
Rep. John Raney R 14
Rep. Richard Raymond D 42
Rep. Ron Reynolds D 27
Rep. Matt Rinaldi R 115
Rep. Kevin Roberts R 126
Rep. Eddie Rodriguez D 51
Rep. Justin Rodriguez D 125
Rep. Ramon Romero Jr. D 90
Rep. Toni Rose D 110
Rep. Scott Sanford R 70
Rep. Matt Schaefer R 6
Rep. Mike Schofield R 132
Rep. Leighton Schubert R 13
Rep. Matt Shaheen R 66
Rep. J. D. Sheffield R 59
Rep. Hugh Shine R 55
Rep. Ron Simmons R 65
Rep. John Smithee R 86
Rep. Drew Springer R 68
Rep. Phil Stephenson R 85
Rep. Jonathan Stickland R 92
Rep. Joe Straus III R 121
Rep. Lynn Stucky R 64
Rep. Valoree Swanson R 150
Rep. Shawn Thierry D 146
Rep. Senfronia Thompson D 141
Rep. Ed Thompson R 29
Rep. Tony Tinderholt R 94
Rep. Chris Turner D 101
Rep. Tomas Uresti D 118
Rep. Gary VanDeaver R 1
Rep. Jason Villalba R 114
Rep. Hubert Vo D 149
Rep. Armando Walle D 140
Rep. James White R 19
Rep. Terry Wilson R 20
Rep. Paul Workman R 47
Rep. John Wray R 10
Rep. Gene Wu D 137
Rep. Bill Zedler R 96
Rep. John Zerwas R 28

Texas State Senate

Sen. Paul Bettencourt R 7
Sen. Brian Birdwell R 22
Sen. Dawn Buckingham R 24
Sen. Konni Burton R 10
Sen. Donna Campbell R 25
Sen. Brandon Creighton R 4
Sen. Craig Estes R 30
Sen. Sylvia Garcia D 6
Sen. Bob Hall R 2
Sen. Kelly Hancock R 9
Sen. Juan Hinojosa D 20
Sen. Donald Huffines R 16
Sen. Joan Huffman R 17
Sen. Bryan Hughes R 1
Sen. Lois Kolkhorst R 18
Sen. Eddie Lucio Jr. D 27
Sen. Jose Menendez D 26
Sen. Borris Miles D 13
Sen. Jane Nelson R 12
Sen. Robert Nichols R 3
Sen. Charles Perry R 28
Sen. Jose Rodriguez D 29
Sen. Charles Schwertner R 5
Sen. Kel Seliger R 31
Sen. Larry Taylor R 11
Sen. Van Taylor R 8
Sen. Carlos Uresti D 19
Sen. Kirk Watson D 14
Sen. Royce West D 23
Sen. John Whitmire D 15
Sen. Judith Zaffirini D 21


Comments are closed.