//Life News

Congress votes to protect taxpayers from funding abortion

by Texas Right to LifeTuesday, January 28, 2014
House Resolution 7, the No Taxpayer Funding for Abortion Act, sponsored by Reps. Chris Smith (R-NJ) and Dan Lipinski (D-Il.), will establish a permanent, government-wide policy against federal funding of abortion.  This legislation is urgently needed because the Affordable Care Act (Obamacare) authorized massive federal subsidies for health plans that will pay for abortion on demand. 
Currently there is a patchwork of various Pro-Life federal laws and rules that prohibit the use of taxpayer dollars in specific programs and funding streams from paying for elective abortions.  Today, these current restrictions are not sufficient to stop all taxpayer funding of abortion and abortion providers.  Right now, the most dangerous and sizable loophole is in Obamacare that will force taxpayers to fund elective abortion coverage. 
Below is the Texas Congressional Delegation indicating those who voted in favor of the legislation.  Please call or email your Congressman and thank them for voting to keep taxpayer dollars from funding abortion and the abortion industry. 
Member District    Party 

H.R. 7 Vote

Office #  Email Link
Louie Gohmert 1 R 202.225.3035 http://gohmert.house.gov/Contact/
Ted Poe 2 R 202.225.6565 https://poe.house.gov/contact/contactform.htm
Sam Johnson 3 R 202.225.4201 http://samjohnson.house.gov/Contact/
Ralph Hall 4 R 202.225.6673 http://ralphhall.house.gov/index.cfm?sectionid=44&sectiontree=44
Jeb Hensarling 5 R 202.225.3484 http://hensarling.house.gov/contact/email-me.shtml
Joe Barton 6 R 202.225.2002 http://joebarton.house.gov/ContactJoe.aspx?Type=Contact
John Culberson 7 R 202.225.2571 http://culbersonforms.house.gov/Contact/ZipAuth.htm
Kevin Brady 8 R 202.225.4901 https://kevinbradyforms.house.gov/contact-form
Al Green 9 D X 202.225.7508 https://algreen.house.gov/contact-me/email-me
Michael McCaul 10 R 202.225.2401 http://mccaul.house.gov/contact-form/
Mike Conaway 11 R 202.225.3605 http://conaway.house.gov/contact/
Kay Granger 12 R 202.225.5071 https://kaygranger.house.gov/contact-me/email-me
Mac Thornberry 13 R 202.225.3706 http://thornberry.house.gov/Contact/
Randy Weber 14 R 202.225.2831 https://forms.house.gov/paul/webforms/issue_subscribe.html
Ruben Hinojosa 15 D NV 202.225.2531 http://hinojosa.house.gov/contact/email-me.shtml
Robert O'Rourke 16 D X 202.225.4831 http://reyes.house.gov/Contact/vyo.htm
Bill Flores 17 R 202.225.6105 http://flores.house.gov/index.cfm?sectionid=58&sectiontree=3,58
Sheila Jackson Lee 18 D X 202.225.3816 http://jacksonlee.house.gov/Contact/
Randy Neugebauer 19 R 202.225.4005 http://randy.house.gov/index.cfm?sectionid=8&sectiontree=8
Joaquin Castro 20 D X 202.225.3236 http://forms.house.gov/gonzalez/webforms/issue_subscribe.htm
Lamar Smith 21 R 202.225.4236 http://lamarsmith.house.gov/Contact/
Pete Olson 22 R 202.225.5951 https://olsonforms.house.gov/index.cfm?sectionid=162
Pete Gallego 23 R X 202.225.4511 http://canseco.house.gov/Contact/
Kenny Marchant 24 R 202.225.6605 http://marchant.house.gov/Contact/
Roger Williams 25 D 202.225.4865 https://forms.house.gov/doggett/webforms/issue_subscribe.htm
Michael Burgess 26 R 202.225.7772 http://burgess.house.gov/Contact/
Blake Farenthold 27 R 202.225.7742 https://forms.house.gov/farenthold/webforms/zipauthen_contact.shtml
Henry Cuellar 28 D 202.225.1640 http://cuellar.house.gov/Contact/SendMeAnEmail.htm
Gene Green 29 D X 202.225.1688 https://green.house.gov/contact-me/email-me
Eddie Bernice Johnson 30 D X 202.225.8885 https://ebjohnsonforms.house.gov/index.cfm?sectionid=85&sectiontree=3,85
John Carter 31 R 202.225.3864 https://carterforms.house.gov/email-john2
Pete Sessions 32 R 202.225.2231 http://sessions.house.gov/index.cfm?FuseAction=ContactUs.ContactForm
Marc Veasey 33 D X 202.225.9897 https://veasey.house.gov/contact/email-me
Filemon Vela 34 D X 202.225.9901 http://vela.house.gov/index.php/2013-07-18-16-35-59/offices
Lloyd Doggett 35 D X 202.225.4865 https://forms.house.gov/doggett/webforms/issue_subscribe.htm
Steve Stockman 36 R 202.225.1555 http://stockman.house.gov/contact